top of page
Writer's picturetheislandridermalta

Kawasaki Ninja ZX9r - Pillion Review

Many of you who are reading this may not know this, but my very first ride as a pillion was on this very Ninja! Must say, I was scared but it was until the first spin. One can say that this bike set my expectations very high. I mean if you 1st ride a 900cc then go down to for example 250cc, the feel of change is drastic. I loved the speed and the power that beast had. But let’s get down to the pillion bike review.

  • Seat: as for comfort, I had quite some space to move around on that seat but obviously do not expect the extreme comfort, it’s a sports bike after all. If you ride for long (even like 45minutes) you will definitely have a numb arse. After all, such bikes are not designed for long distance travelling. Also, as like most of the other bikes, do be prepared to slide down quite a few times during gear change or braking but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Riding Position: As like any other sports bike the pillion would be at a higher level than the rider. This results you to be blasted with wind if not in the proper riding position. Since this was my first time riding a bike, I had no idea how I am supposed to stay, but by time and the bike itself, you will learn that in order to be comfortable (well as comfortable as it can be on a bike like this) is to lean forward towards the rider. In this manner, you will avoid the excessive wind blowing in your face. The only drawback about this riding position is that after an hour or even less of riding be prepared for a back-ache. The one trick which seemed to help me not to get back-aches that much is that when we are at the lights (red light), I let go off the rider and stretch a bit then as soon as the light goes to orange I will get back to the proper riding position. I am not saying that this is the ultimate solution.

  • Space between the rider and the pillion: Well I cannot say that I was restricted regarding space. I think it had the right amount of space needed. After all, if there would be too much space between the two, the pillion would be highly uncomfortable while riding.

  • Pillion grab rails: The majority of the sports bike are not equipped with pillion grab rails, unlike this model. They were spaced quite nicely and honestly thank God for this as it also made it easier to be able to stretch even when riding, and to have something to hold on to when you “stand up” because your arse is numb. It also helped that they were on the side of the bike and not at the back.

Overall, this is one hell of a nice bike. Those of you who like to feel that thrill, I highly suggest you go for this. Although, I do understand that if you live in Malta you may be rejected to be insured on a bike like this. I simply loved how my husband used to barely touch the throttle and we are flying at the speed of light. If he would wake up one day and tell me I am going to get it again I would surely be over the moon :3


78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page